Facebook tweaked its privacy settings Thursday and will no longer allow users to completely hide from others searching for them on the site. In other words, with few exceptions, we’re all now searchable on Facebook.
The company is officially retiring the “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” setting over the next few weeks, completing a process the social network started last December when it first announced it would slowly eliminate the feature
For many users who were no longer using the “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” feature, Thursday’s change should have no impact on how others can search and view their profile. Those users still utilizing the setting will see a message from Facebook on their homepage acknowledging the update.